Dining Out

9 Dec

Like mentioned before, a big part of my initial start as a pescetarian was to support my best friend’s decision to become a vegan.  When we see each other, we spend almost every waking moment with each other, and at multiple points of the day, we eat together.  After being pescetarian around so many meat-lovers, I realized how much more difficult it is to have a meatless diet when just about everyone around you is happily gobbling down large portions of it on the daily.  I never thought it was going to be easy, but knowing that there is someone close to me choosing to disregard the same food makes me push myself slightly harder.  You never realize how prevalent something is until you can no longer have it, and I had to grasp the harsh reality that I could no longer eat at a lot of places.  Luckily, living in the heart of veggie-friendly Austin has given me some hope in dining out, but for the most part, it has become difficult to eat out with friends who do not share the same diet.  One thing I have taken from my semester of studying food and eating habits is that eating is one of those commonplace things that everyone enjoys, but not everyone can share.  Like in Stealing Buddha’s Dinner, eating with different people brings about different conventions and foreign foods.  The unfamiliarity of a dining situation has the ability to make people uncomfortable and displeased, and we are able to see how much food plays a factor in social settings.  When I eat out with people, I never want to be an imposition onto others, so wherever they choose to eat, I follow, regardless of the possible lack of vegetarian-friendly options.  Popular eateries like barbecue joints and sandwich shops that college students consistently eat at are now borderline useless to me unless I’m craving some creamed corn or a grilled cheese.  After reading in Stealing Buddha’s Dinner how even food can make you an outcast, I choose to suck it up and just do my best to adjust wherever I go to eat.  Luckily, when my best friend and I eat either by ourselves or in a group, we have each other to turn to in our search for meatless dishes.  You’re no longer considered an outcast when you have another outcast by your side, right?

Leave a Reply

