The Culmination of It All

9 Dec

Though it is plain to see I am plenty satisfied with my pescetarian diet, I still have not found it in myself to push it upon others.  Food holds the power to bring people together, characterize people, and open everyone’s minds to other cultures.  It is not something I wish to mess with when it has such a high value to the majority of the world.  However, since this is my personal blog, I am pushing that all aside to recommend that you take some liberty to attempt a vegetarian or pescetarian diet from time to time.  Meat should never be considered a main dish that takes up half your plate, but in our modern-day America, sometimes it is all people eat in a meal.  I encourage anyone to take a step back every once in awhile from meat and focus on eating more natural and healthier foods.  The earth has so generously graced us with a variety of vegetables, so we should focus on eating what was originally given to us rather than what we have to make or process to eat.  It may seem daunting at first, but if you ever take it upon yourself to at least attempt a veggie-friendly diet, you will most definitely feel better about yourself.  Sometimes, it is better to take a look at your future and your own health you are putting at risk as you consume excess amounts of meats.  You place yourself at risk of heart disease, high cholesterol, and increased likelihood of cancer by consuming meat, and I find it important to always keep that in mind.  When I think about when I grow up and have kids of my own, I hope that they never succumb to the eating habits I developed as I grew older.  I hope they love vegetables as much as I did as a kid and never lose sight of what is healthy and what is not.  The decisions people make in life, and more specifically in food, is all their own, but I for one am beyond proud of my decision to be pescetarian.  In my personal opinion, the benefits of living such a lifestyle overshadow any minute adjustments that I have had to make, and I hope that as time goes on, more people can see all the benefits of pescetarianism that I have now found.

Leave a Reply

